What’s worse? Organized religion or organized crime?

What an odd question, I know…

Some time back a friend asked me this question over a few beers.  “Don’t answer it now!” he told me, “Just think about it for a while.”  I have to be honest about it.  I didn’t think about this question for some time.  Until last week that is.

I had some free time to reflect about things for a few days as the family was away visiting more family.  I found myself in front of a clean notebook with three pens:  one black, one red and one blue.  I thought to myself that such a question comparing organized religion to organized crime would be a given – organized religion would win out.  So I wrote down on one column all of the positives of organized religion.  Then on the other side of the page something quite strange happened.  I told myself that I would brainstorm all of the positives of organized crime, and guess what?  I came up with as many good points to organized crime as bad points.  So then I decided that I would do the opposite and write down all of the bad points of organized crime on one side of the paper and see if I could match the bad points of organized religion on the other side of the paper.  And I could.

Before this creates a moral vacuum or a philosophical conundrum I just want to be clear.  I am not trying to state that organized religion is bad and that organized crime is good.  In fact, I am not saying that I have become neutral on either subject.  I am just saying that all the evidence gleaned from this exercise just supported the notion that there is no black and white.

So now I ask you for your own answers.  Which is worse (or better)?  Organized religion or organized crime? What say you?

If you found this post interesting and would like to receive updates by e-mail then click here to register to receive my new posts!


Leave a Reply

